Posted by: londontravels | September 8, 2009

Day 1

Day 1

God my head is scrambled. After a 6 hour flight, a 5 hour time change, and only 25 minutes of sleep…I am exhausted. Our departure was a little late, but once we boarded the plane and got settled, the 6 hours went by fast. Oddly enough it would have an even quicker flight if the the pilot didn’t have to delay 15 minutes because of traffic…he decided to do figure eights in the air to waste time.

Once we landed, we waited in customs at Heathrow and hopped the Piccadilly tube (equivalent to the Philadelphia subway but much larger) and got off at Gloucester Road. After a half hour of walking in circles to find the place to pick up our flat keys, we arrived at Metro Gate and retrieved our keys and went on our way to Hyde Park, our building.

South Kensington is an extremely wealthy area and Hyde Park Gate is a beautiful old building that is set right across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, the old stomping grounds of Princess Diana. Although we didn’t get to check out the park when we arrived, Friday we got to snap some pictures and later jog the gardens…but more on that later.

Anyway, five other guys and I are located in the basement of the building…I know that sounds kind of weird, but I would definitely not trade it for any other floor. 4 guys (Andrew, Greg, Chris, and Zack) live in one room and Steve and I live in the other room. Our room is small but I haven’t been spending much time in there so it’s no big deal. We have our own kitchen, 2 bathrooms with showers and a living area. All of the other floors have roughly 8-10 flats with 2-4 kids in each room. The entire floor only has one kitchen and the bathroom situation is sparse. I like the basement.

Everyone is real cool. We all get along pretty well and everyone is extremely social. Steve and Andrew both were in classes with me last year and Andrew was on the same flight as me coming over. After getting settled in, I contemplated going to sleep but realized that I was in London and sleeping is for the gloopy ones. So, a few of use went to a couple pubs to grab a few pints. The drinking culture over here is so much different from at home. In America, college kids mainly drink to get drunk…here in Europe, drinking is casual thing…a responsible thing.

All in all, my first day in London was great…the home sickness was gone by the end of the night (not saying I don’t miss everyone) but I realized that I am only here for a short amount of time and that I need to do as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

Categories

