Posted by: londontravels | September 11, 2009

Day 8

On Friday, our goal was to go to the Science Museum which is located right around the corner from our flat. I was pretty excited about this because regularly science museums are hands-on and very aesthetic. This museum did posses a lot to look at; however, you weren’t allowed to touch anything. Plus, you had to read your way through each exhibit…call me lazy, or even better American, but I was not in the mood to read through 5 levels of exhibits. So, we gave up after the first floor and headed to an asian food place called Wagamamas (maybe I will go back one of these days and check out the rest of the museum).

When I got home I realized that I had a good portion of reading to do before next week’s classes, so I went up to Gloucester Arms (a  local pub in Kensington) and knocked off a chunk of my reading. It wasn’t until a friend of mine called me that I realized that tonight was the night that all of Temple went to see either “the 39 Steps” or the musical Blood Brothers. Originally I was assigned Blood Brothers, but someone asked me if I could trade so that they could go with their friend…I obliged and I am very satisfied that I did (I didn’t really care because I haven’t seen either of the performances, so I was open to both).

The play was so funny. Apparently Alfred Hitchcock directed which was a huge surprise to me. It had a lot of slap-stick humor, which had the audience rolling the entire time. What was unique about it was that the show only had 4 actors playing close to 50 roles. This was quite astonishing because at some instances more than 4 people had to be on the stage. It’s hard to explain how that worked, but it worked and it was phenomenal.

After the show a group of us headed to a pub call Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese where apparently Charles Dickens used to socialize their often. It was an old pub that had various different rooms that lead below the ground. It was too dark in there to take pictures but I posted a few Google images of the place so you can see how old it is.

That pretty much wrapped up my night. Although I was a bit disappointed by the museum, I was very happy with my choice of performances. Plus, I got to finally check out a pub outside of Kensington. Talk to you soon.

Love,

Zac

p.s. ha ha ha sorry about the midget pictures

Responses

  1. Zac,
    It must be a “Taylor” thing, but I am a big fan of the Banana Peppers also. Sounds like your having a great time. Have an Amstel Light for me in Amsderdam. ” That’s one Dam good Beer” Talk to you soon.

    Uncle Larry


Leave a Reply

Categories

