Posted by: londontravels | September 25, 2009

Day 22

My “me” day turned to a “me and Chris” day ha ha. It’s okay though, I didn’t mind the company. Chris and I walked around Kensington High Street, did a little shopping and then headed to see (500) Days of Summer. An emotional roller coaster with more ups and downs than the Jack Rabbit at Clementon Park, (500) Days of Summer is a film that pretty much anyone who has felt love can relate to. For those who haven’t seen the film, I won’t give anything away, but I will give you some background. Tom Hansen (played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has been a lover all his life and knows that he won’t be truly happy until he meets that special someone. It isn’t until a new assistant, Summer Finn (played by one of my favorites, Zoe Deschanel), is hired at the greeting cards company he works at that he discovers he has found the person that he loves. Summer is up front with Tom telling him that she doesn’t believe in love and such, but pretty much leads Tom on the entire movie. They go to the movies together, the go to dinner together, they get drinks together, they sleep together…but to her, they are not a couple. Tom falls into the trap and I will leave you with that (don’t want to ruin it!). To sum it up, boy meets girl. Boy falls in love with girl. Girl doesn’t (totally wish I made that up, but it is the actual tagline for the movie ha ha).

I really enjoyed (500) Days of Summer because despite not having the typical Hollywood ending, it leaves you with a sense of hope, a sense of security. It is also a neat film because it flashes back and forth through 500 days: through the tough times, the great times, the sad times and the magical times. It also has clever little cuts of expectation versus reality and sit downs with the rest of the male characters on what their dream girl would be like. I guess comparing films to reality is probably not the best (or most accurate) thing to do, but this film definitely makes you think about relationships, friendship, love, the future, the past, emotions, insecurities and more…or, maybe I am just a sap ha ha. Anyway, I hope I didn’t give too much away! Just figured I’d give my opinion for those who haven’t (or have for that matter) seen the film. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you have seen it or plan on seeing it.

Sorry no pictures today, but here is the movie poster of (500) Days of Summer and also a picture that made me laugh so hard this morning that I began to cry…luckily no one was in the room ha ha. Enjoy!

Love,

Zac

Responses

  1. joseph gordon levitt needs to be a movie star

    • Agreed.

  2. you are my only concert friend. people laugh at me these days. who do you expect to see portugal the man with me, HUH!? HOW BOUT THE DEAR HUNTER? ANDREW? TISIN? I DON’T THINK SO

    • haha. I’m sorry man. We will have to do some show catching up when I get back…anyone good going to be in town during Winter Break? p.s. I watched Watchmen the other night again…Oddly I didn’t like it as much as I did the first time. I watched it with two kids who never read the graphic novel and I am pretty sure for someone to have a certain respect for the movie, you have to read it. The other thing is, I didn’t realize how shitty the acting was…I don’t know if it is because it is being based off dialogue of a comic book (more or less) or what. I also noticed that every effing scene is like the climax lol…so drawn out, slow pans, etc. I didn’t really pick up on it the first time probably because I was so excited to see it. The director’s cut is waaay to long and kind of unnecessary if you ask me. I can kind of see why Alan Moore would not want to make it a film. I don’t know. Did you have any thoughts after you watched it again?

  3. i agree to an extent. not so much with the acting (other than malin akerman i thought she was brutal) but it’s not really a movie you can pop in and watch over and over again. I still think it’s a good film, but it’s just so dark and plodding and like you mentioned every scene seems to have an extreme sense of impending doom. It’s a superhero movie that is based on 90 percent dialogue and story as apposed to action, which for 3 hours gets tedious. I still think climax was ultimately rewarding for the audience, as it still got across the same themes and moral ambiguities. The movie could have been better but I don’t think much better given the source material unless it was made into an hbo miniseries that was 12 hours long


Leave a Reply

Categories

