Posted by: londontravels | October 8, 2009

Day 34, 35

Before you do anything…make sure you check out my trip to Amsterdam located below first.

Anyway, after 3 hours of sleep when I returned from Amsterdam, 8 AM on Tuesday was a tour of Westminster Abbey followed by a play at the Globe Theatre at night. A very intriguing tour, Westminster Abbey has statues and monuments scattered throughout the building (I’m sorry, no pictures allowed inside…I have posted exterior pictures already so check the recent posts). Anyway, West Minster Abbey was cool, but what was even cooler was Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre. Unfortunately, the original Globe Theatre was burnt down 100 years ago but, Sam Wanamaker (USA! USA!) rebuilt the Globe Theatre due to his passion for Shakespearian performances. I obviously have never been to the original Globe, but I have seen pictures and from the pictures it looks like an exact replica…it was a lovely experience. Love, Labour’s, Lost (the performance that we saw) was an extremely funny play about 4 men who vow to not speak to women and four French women who are looking to marry, but in the end the men are infatuated with the women and due to some unfortunate circumstances, the women have to leave the men. The women basically tell the men if they can wait a year and a day for them, they will be there for them. The cast interacted with the audience and the audience ate it right up…including me…it was great!

As for today, nothing but class and exhaustedness ha ha. I got to watch the Phillies first playoff game which gave me flashbacks of last year. Cliff Lee looked phenomenal and the Phils got hits in the right moments…I hope it carries over to tomorrow. E-mail me if you would like to discuss…

Talk to you all later. I love you.

Love,

Zac

Leave a Reply

Categories

