Posted by: londontravels | November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving

Good morning friends and Happy Thanksgiving. I hope everyone had a safe, jolly Thanksgiving Eve last night and I hope everyone is getting ready for the big feast today (or probably still sleeping considering it is 6:15 AM over there). I just wanted to wish everyone a happy and safe holiday. I originally was just going to go out to dinner tonight and not make a big deal of Thanksgiving, but after talking to some of the people in my building, a Thanksgiving feast is being conducted on the third floor. It is going to be a potluck style dinner (yes! I love potlucks) and everyone either chose what they wanted to bring or was assigned something. Well, Steve (the chef of the building) is bringing spiced pears, Chris is going to bring a bottle of wine and I was assigned…(drum roll , please) plates and napkins (womp, womp, womp). Nice…plates and napkins. Either everyone in the building knows that I can’t cook for shit, or I told them I was coming at the last-minute and really couldn’t think of anything else for me to contribute. I can see the conversation now:

Person A: “God dammit! Zac wants to come now…we all know his best dish is peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with Baked Lays and a glass of iced tea…what could we tell him to bring?”

Person B: “I got it! Plates and napkins! Perfect…he won’t be forced to cook anything and we won’t be forced to eat it!”

Of course this is probably not how it went down (or is it?) but I think of it this way: I don’t have to cook anything, I am spending minimal money and if no one brought plates and napkins, what would they eat off of? So, not that bad of a deal.

Anyway, I am really going to miss being at home for Thanksgiving, but hey…there is always next year. Once again, I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday. Don’t eat too much turkey (eff that, eat as much turkey until it is time to unbutton the slacks) and let’s hope the Cowboys lose (highly unlikely). I will post pictures of our dinner a little later. I love you.

Love,

Zac

UPDATE: Thursday November 26, 2009 12:41 PM Not completely useless. Helped Steve a little bit with his spiced pears.

Responses

  1. Plates and napkins that’s my kind of contribution. As you said you are definitely safe with bringing that. You know no one can get sick from a plate and napkin. Unless of course there is some kind of weird dye in the product that would run onto the food….

  2. ZAC,
    I will miss seeing you on Thanksgiving. Wanted you to know that I have been reading your blog and enjoying your writing and your adventures. I have not see all the photos yet, but am working on that.

    Enjoy Scotland. It is beautiful county and the folks are very friendly. At least they were when I was there.

    Stay safe, Kathleen aka Kate

    • Kathleen,
      It was great seeing you guys on Thanksgiving. I hope you had a great time and I can’t wait to spend it with everyone next year.

      Love,
      Zac

  3. Now Zac, you know you should have e-mailed me…I could have sent you the very easy recipe for my famous ( and well liked) mashed potatoe cassarole. You would have been the hit of the party!!!!Happy Thanksgiving darlin’ we will miss you today. I hope the Skype plan works.
    Love, Mom
    XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

