Posted by: londontravels | December 3, 2009

Day 91: Scotland until Sunday

I take the last trip of my time here in Europe this weekend. Steve and I need to be at St. Pancras Train Station by 5:45 AM tomorrow morning to catch the train to Edinburgh, Scotland. This is a trip with a group called International Friends, a group that I have never traveled with before, so it will be interesting to see how it pans out. From what the itinerary says, it looks like we arrive and settle in to our “family owned, bed and breakfast/hotel” and then take a walking tour to get acclimated with the area. On Saturday and Sunday though, it seems like we are free to do what we want. Definitely not the same as when I traveled with ISH where they had pretty much everything planned for us.

I have been exchanging e-mails back and forth with a woman named Teresa who is related to the Taylor family: her mother was cousin’s with my Great Grandfather. Thanks to Mimi and her impeccable research, I sorted out our family ties and shot her an e-mail about potentially meeting up in Glasgow, where she lives. Unfortunately, she will be in England this weekend, but she did pass along my information to her brother, Frank who might be around for the weekend. It would be such a cool experience to meet some family from the mother land.

Well, haven’t started packing yet. I am currently at the tech lab with Kelsey and Mari trying to start on my final paper of the semester (but instead dicking around on the internet) which is an 8 pager on BBC Radio 3…boring. But, after this it will be all over so I am thankful.

Today is day 9 of the countdown. With that said, here is my #9 thing I can’t wait to have back in the US of A

Number 9: Wawa hoagies

The other day while sitting in another awful British Cinema class, I was thinking about what I wanted for dinner. Stir fry? Nah, getting sick of those. Turkey burger? Meh, they don’t even come close to my Mom’s homemade ones. Pasta? Not really in the mood. A classic turkey hoagie with cheddar cheese, lettuce, pickles, sweet peppers, banana peppers, onions, yellow mustard, mayo and oregano? Obviously! Unfortunately, this wasn’t feasible, but it definitely gave me another thing to be excited about when I get back!

Wawa and I have laughed together, cried together and enjoyed each other’s company. Wawa has been there for me since I can remember. Whether it was walking to Wawa with Sean when we were 12, or driving to Wawa with Scott when we were 16, Wawa has grown as I have grown. I don’t know what I would do with out it. (Wow, how sad is that).

Well, I hope to post while I am in Scotland, but not sure if the internet situation. Hope to talk with you soon and I hope everyone is having a nice ending to their week.

Love,

Zac

p.s. found this picture of Johnny Knoxville…gained a lot of respect for that man (check out his tattoo).

Responses

  1. Wawa is still standing on Bristol Road and awaiting your homecoming. There is a new place in the same shopping center. Luca Brothers. They make a good hoagie. I like them better than Taranova’s and you know what a big fan I am of Taranova’s. It took some arm twisting but I do make the switch occasionally. They are in the spot where Spinners was located. I am sure they would make a hoagie to your specifications and I bet it would be cheaper than Wawa. I always like to leave my options open when it comes to a good hoagie.

    • can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

Categories

